Australia Awards Scholarships 2025 – Scholarship in Australia: Apply Now

The Australia Awards Scholarships (AAS) are a prestigious international scholarship program funded by the Australian Government.


Aimed at fostering development through education, these scholarships provide opportunities for individuals from developing countries, particularly those in the Indo-Pacific region, to undertake full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

Overview of the Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australia Awards Scholarships are designed to equip recipients with the skills and knowledge necessary to drive change and contribute to the development of their home countries.


The scholarships cover a wide range of fields, including public policy, health, education, engineering, and agriculture, reflecting Australia’s commitment to supporting sustainable development.

List of Participating Universities

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Aviation Australia
  • Bond University
  • Box Hill Institute TAFE
  • Bureau of Meteorology
  • Canberra Institute of Technology
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Central Queensland University
  • Charles Darwin University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Chisholm Institute of TAFE
  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Deakin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Federation University
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • Holmesglen Institute of TAFE
  • James Cook University
  • Kangan Institute
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie University
  • Melbourne Polytechnic
  • Monash University
  • Murdoch University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • Southern Cross University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • TAFE Queensland
  • Tasmanian Polytechnic
  • The Australian National University
  • The Gordon Institute of TAFE
  • The University of Adelaide
  • The University of Melbourne
  • The University of New England
  • The University of Newcastle
  • The University of Queensland
  • University of Tasmania
  •  University of New South Wales
  • The University of Sydney
  • The University of Western Australia
  • University College London
  • University of Canberra
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of The Sunshine Coast
  • University of Wollongong
  • Victoria University
  • Western Sydney University
  • William Angliss Institute of TAFE
Medical Program Scholarships - Apply Now

Key Benefits

The Australia Awards Scholarships offer comprehensive support to recipients, including:

  1. Full Tuition Fees: Scholarship recipients receive full coverage of tuition fees for the duration of their studies.
  2. Return Air Travel: A single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route.
  3. Establishment Allowance: A one-off payment to contribute towards accommodation expenses, textbooks, and study materials.
  4. Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE): A fortnightly payment to cover basic living costs.
  5. Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC): Coverage for medical treatment during the scholarship period.
  6. Introductory Academic Program (IAP): A mandatory program before the commencement of formal academic studies, which provides information on living and studying in Australia.
  7. Pre-Course English (PCE) Fees: If deemed necessary, recipients may be provided with PCE training to improve their English language skills.
  8. Supplementary Academic Support: Academic support services as needed to enhance the recipient’s performance.
  9. Fieldwork (for research students): For eligible research students, a return airfare to their country of citizenship or within Australia may be provided for fieldwork purposes.
Mercedes-Benz South Africa Graduate Development Programme 2023

Eligibility Criteria

Applicants for the Australia Awards Scholarships must meet the following criteria:

  • Nationality: Be a citizen of one of the participating countries.
  • Residency: Be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their country of citizenship.
  • Age: Be at least 18 years of age at the time of commencing the scholarship.
  • Academic Qualifications: Meet the specific academic requirements of their chosen course or program.
  • English Proficiency: Demonstrate proficiency in English, typically through an IELTS or TOEFL test.
  • Commitment to Return: Agree to return to their home country for a minimum of two years after completing their scholarship to contribute to its development.

Application Process

The application process for the Australia Awards Scholarships is rigorous and involves several steps:

  1. Online Application: Applicants must complete an online application form through the official Australia Awards website.
  2. Supporting Documents: Submission of academic transcripts, proof of citizenship, employment records, and references.
  3. English Language Test Results: Submission of recent IELTS or TOEFL test scores.
  4. Development Impact Plan: Applicants must outline how their proposed study will contribute to the development of their home country.
  5. Interviews and Selection: Shortlisted candidates may be invited for an interview as part of the selection process.
Study in USA - Daemen College Merit Scholarships


The application cycle for the Australia Awards Scholarships 2025 is as follows:

  • Opening Date: February 1, 2024
  • Closing Date: April 30, 2024
  • Shortlisting and Interviews: June – August 2024
  • Notification of Outcomes: September 2024
  • Pre-Departure Briefings: November – December 2024
  • Commencement of Studies: January – March 2025

Impact and Alumni Network

The Australia Awards Scholarships have a profound impact on the lives of recipients and their home countries. Scholars join a global network of alumni who are leaders in their fields and contribute to various sectors such as government, education, business, and civil society.

The Australia Global Alumni community fosters lifelong connections and offers ongoing opportunities for professional development and collaboration.


The Australia Awards Scholarships 2025 represent a significant opportunity for individuals from developing countries to pursue high-quality education and develop skills that will enable them to contribute to the prosperity and stability of their home countries.

By investing in human capital, Australia reaffirms its commitment to fostering sustainable development and building enduring partnerships across the globe.

Baker Hughes Internships for Students and Graduates

For more detailed information and to apply, prospective applicants should visit the official Australia Awards website.